Stage 2 – Experimenting With Structures (Exercise 4)

For this exercise I decided to make a grid structure using coffee stirrers with yarn and double sided sticky tape to hold in place. I started with my collection of blended yarns made using the steps explained at the end of Exercise 3. I had a mixture of wool, plastic bag and cotton thread twisted yarns to work with.

8

I tried to be as creative as I could but I found this quite difficult for some reason. The carrier bag twists are quite difficult to work with I found. If I were to do this again I think I would have spent a little more time looking at other mediums such as fabrics and cotton threads but unfortunately, I didn’t have enough of these spare in my collection to use for this experiment. I am please with how this came out though. It was fun to experiment with spaces and see how tighter worked spaces contrasted with the spacier ones.

13

 

Leave a comment