STAGE 3 – Experimenting With Different Materials

 This was another extremely fun exercise. By this point I had found my feet with weaving and I was really, really enjoying the process. I found it relaxing and extremely enjoyable and even though I had been warned that it was a very long process, I found ideas coming to me very quickly and I was actually getting through samples rather quickly.

This next one asked me to sort my yarns textually and start by doing half a warp of different techniques to see what I enjoyed from what yarn and then to move on to a sample in the second half. Unfortunately, I didn’t have enough yarn available to do 5cm of each plus a sample so instead I just made a sample and tried to judge the effects of each yarn from previous experience.

7

I was really please with how this had turned out. I had tried to go for a feel of brick, roads and grass and I think I captured this. I really enjoyed playing with the different techniques and seeing the effects of thicker, thinner and multicolored yarns. I tried using more than one colour or texture together too to see how they reacted. Even though I didn’t have chance to play around with the techniques and yarns, I still feel I made correct decisions for what I was wanting to achieve. I would love to learn some different techniques too. I also left the ends un weaved so the difference between the threads and the effects they created were more prominent.

Leave a comment